4 Months In and No Visits From Child Services!

I gave you a break last month and decided not to write a post about where my son is in his development.  There were a few reasons for this decision; I was busy, and the kid really did nothing to impress me.  That has all changed as we enter MONTH 4!!!  In the last two month this kid has been on an airplane twice, drove from Chicago to Milwaukee, attended a wedding, brought home two colds and has learned to roll over.  I will now cover these experiences a bit more in-depth!

 Oliver’s aunt Sarah got married last month and Oliver was in attendance…For 30 minutes and then we got him the hell out of there.  Let me back track a few days.  We flew from Boston to Chicago without a single hiccup; he flew beautifully and was on par to have a great day, nay a great trip!  Then we came across the stupidity that is renting a car seat with your rental car.  Note to those of you looking to travel for the first time with your infant, bring your own equipment.  No matter how much of a pain in the a$$ you think it is going to be, believe me when I say it is nothing compared to the horror you will face if you are left to the mercy of your rental car company.  We were handed the cheapest looking seat I had ever seen and told they do not assist in installing.  I spent almost an hour trying to install this POS only to have a manager finally come and tell me I was missing a strap and that he didn’t have any left.  We cobb-jobbed the seat in the car and Tracey had to ride in the back the whole way holding on to him.  I and Budget rental car had quite a nice conversation upon my return about how unacceptable this was!  Any-hoo, we made it to the site of the wedding and Oliver was not a happy camper.  He didn’t sleep for more than 45 minutes the entire time we were there.  His schedule was out of whack and he was not afraid to let us know how displeased he was by this.  While he was happy during the day, he was a terror at night.  Fortunately he was surrounded by his family and they were kind enough to let Tracey and I take a few cat naps during the day while they basked in his cuteness.  The minute he stopped being cute he was back in our arms.  After having had to skip the rehearsal dinner due to Sir Screams-a-Lot well…screaming it dawned on me that the resort we were staying at might have a babysitting service.  We were in luck and after the wedding ceremony we drove like the Dukes of Hazard back to the resort to dump our soon to explode in anger son off with a complete stranger! 

 Paying a 14 year-old girl from the back woods of Wisconsin $50 to watch your baby for 4 hours so you and your wife can drink and eat…PRICELESS! 

 We made it home and after that great trip we sent Oliver back to daycare where he picked up his first cold and shared it lovingly with me his Father.  I know they are kids and kids put stuff in their mouths for no reason, and I know kids spread germs but every time I go to pick him up at daycare I want to soak him in Purell before I bring him home.  Not to mention there is this curly haired kid in the toddler room that is ALWAYS touching Oliver and I want to punch him in his little face.  Is that wrong?  Is it bad that I want to punch a toddler?  He always has his grimy little fingers in my sons face and I just want to punch him!  I blame him for both colds Oliver has brought home.   

 Lastly my little guy rolled over and has not stopped rolling since he started.  He is probably in Buffalo by now.  He just keeps rolling.  I KID, I KID.  The boy can roll but gets stymied by his own arms.  He’s like a t-rex in that regard he just doesn’t know what to do with those things.  In closing, not traveling with him again until he is 18, I want to punch a toddler, kid can roll and we will see you in a month!  

My little family at my sisters wedding!

About nshields279

I am just a normal guy, (i suppose that is all relative). I used to work in the music business. I am married to a wonderful woman, and we are the proud parents to a great rescued pit bull. I suck at playing the guitar, but can still skate backwards. Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this blog are those of the authors and do not reflect the official policy or position of my employer.

1 thought on “4 Months In and No Visits From Child Services!

Leave a comment